County Board of Commissioners approves relocation of treasurer's office

Published: Jan. 13, 2020 at 5:11 PM CST
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Nearly a year after two county department's consolidated, the treasurer's office is moving back to its original location.

County treasurer Shelli Franzen addressed the county board Monday morning about her concerns.

She says having the DMV and the treasurer's office into one location has created long and congested lines.

While Franzen wants to see the treasures office moved, she says the move will not hamper the cross training of staff.

"It hasn't worked and it's just too crowded," said Lincoln County Board Chairman Bill Henry. "We got eleven women working in one room all of which have to continually go to their desk and back to their window. We have both personal property, be it real estate or vehicle, it's happening at one window and we just need to get spread out a little bit."

There is no date on when the actual move will take place.

However, commissioners hope it will happen soon as remodeling of the original office is ongoing.

In other business, commissioners postponed to set salaries for department heads until next week.

Commissioners say they want more time to review the evaluations performed of the Noxious Weed Superintendent, Highway Superintendent, Emergency Management Director and Veterans Service Officer. The evaluations were conducted last summer.

Commissioners were appointed to the following boards for 2020.

District One Commissioner Joe Hewgley:

Economic Development Task Force

North Platte Economic Development Corporation (DEVCO)

Region II Human Services

ADA Coordinator

Personnel Committee

Rules Committee

Law Enforcement/Judiciary Committee

District Two Commissioner Bill Henry:

West Central Development District

West Central District Health Board

Sandhills RC & D

County Roads Committee

Security Committee

Building and Grounds Committee

District Three Commissioner Kent Weems:

Drug Task Force

West Central Weed Management Area

Noxious Weeds Committee

Security Committee

Law Enforcement/Judiciary Committee

District Four Commissioner Walt Johnson:

North Platte Senior Center Advisory Committee

West Central Area on Aging

West Central Development District - Alternate

County Roads Committee

Safety Committee

County Extension/Ag Society Committee

District Five Commissioner Jerry Woodruff:

North Platte/Lincoln County Visitors Bureau Board

Home Health Agency

Personnel Committee

Rules Committee

Building and Grounds Committee

Appointee to receive drug testing reports: Joe Hewgley & Joe Wright

Fair Housing Representative: Rebecca Rossell

South Central Planning & Exercise Training Region (SCPETR): Brandon Myers and Joanna Lemoine

Mid-Nebraska Community Services Inc.: Bob Peal

Latest News

Latest News