Officers elected at MPCC Board meeting

The board elected several officers, approved the submission of a TRIO grant application, and addressed board meeting dates for 2020 and 2021. (SOURCE: MPCC).

North Platte, Neb. (KNOP) - The MPCC board elected several officers at Wednesday's monthly meeting.

The board elected the following officers: Ben Lashley as board chair; Cynthia Duncan as vice chair; Jo Etta Brown as secretary/treasurer and Matthew Broz as assistant secretary/treasurer. Ernie Mehl and Kent Miller will be the board’s Nebraska Community College Association (NCCA) representatives.

The Board approved the submission of a TRIO grant application to include the following grant-funded positions: two full-time positions, one part-time position and five part-time peer support specialists. The estimated total of the grant is about $250,000 per year for five years.

Board Policy states that Board meetings will be the fourth Wednesday of each month through the end of 2020, unless otherwise approved by the Board.

The Board approved holding the June 24 meeting at the Ogallala Community Campus and moving the following meetings from the fourth Wednesday to the third Wednesday: May 27 to May 20, Sept. 23 to Sept. 16, Nov. 25 to Nov. 18 and Dec. 23 to Dec. 16.

They set new meeting dates to begin in 2021.