Morgan Jr. named to Big Ten preseason honors list

By  | 

CHICAGO, Ill. -- University of Nebraska wide receiver Stanley Morgan Jr. was one of the 10 players included on the 2018 preseason honors list released Monday morning in conjunction with 2018 Big Ten Media Day.

A panel of conference media members select 10 players – five from the East and West Divisions – as preseason nominations. Morgan, a two-time member of the Biletnikoff Award watch list, is the only wide receiver on the 10-player list.

Morgan leads an experienced Husker receiving corps, setting career bests with 61 catches, 986 receiving yards and 10 touchdowns in 2017.

A second-team All-Big Ten pick, Morgan ranked second in the conference in receiving yards and touchdowns and fourth in catches per game as a junior. His 986 receiving yards broke the school record held by 1972 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Rodgers, while Morgan’s five 100-yard receiving games were the most by a Husker in school history. In Big Ten play, he was in the top five among conference receivers in 100-yard games (first), receiving yards per game (second) and receptions per game (fifth).

2018 Big Ten Players to Watch


Rashan Gary, Jr., DL, MICH
Brian Lewerke, Jr., QB, MSU
Nick Bosa, Jr., DE, OSU
J.K. Dobbins, So., RB, OSU
Noah Fant, Jr., TE, IOWA
Stanley Morgan Jr., Sr., WR, NEB
Paddy Fisher, So., LB, NU
T.J. Edwards, Sr., LB, WIS
Jonathan Taylor, So., RB, WIS

Nebraska Preseason Big Ten Honorees (2011-Present)
2018 - Stanley Morgan Jr., WR
2015 - Maliek Collins, DT
2015 - De’Mornay Pierson-El, WR
2014 - Ameer Abdullah, RB
2014 - Randy Gregory, DE
2013 - Taylor Martinez, QB
2012 - Rex Burkhead, RB
2011 - Jared Crick, DT
2011 - Lavonte David, LB

Read the original version of this article at